Through the mountains and beyond!

Tanzania is bordered by Uganda, Kenya, Mozambique and Malawi, Comoro Islands, Zambia, Burundi, Rwanda and the Democratic Republic Of Congo is Tanzania which is one of the East African countries in the Africa Great Lakes Region. The currency used is the Tanzanian Shilling and the national language is Swahili. It has the largest and deepest lake in Africa; Lake Tanganyika. Its current capital city is Dodoma though it was previously Dar es Salaam. The name ‘Tanzania’ was made by combining two states of Tanganyika and Zanzibar to form the name Tanzania. 

Tanzania is the 31st largest country in the world and the 13th largest in Africa. It is home to Africa’s highest mountain; Kilimanjaro. It has 4 international airports with over 100 airstrips i.e Kilimanjaro International airport, Arusha International airport, Mwanza International airport, Julius Nyerere International airport. The large cities in Tanzania include Dar es salaam, Mwanza, Arusha, Dodoma,  Mbeya, Zanzibar city.

Tanzania has 16 National Parks plus reserves like the Ngorongoro conservation area. Parks include Gombe Stream National Park, Serengeti National Park, Ruaha National Park, Katavi National Park, Tarangire National Park unique for tree-climbing lions, Lake Manyara National Park, Selous National Park, Kilimanjaro National Park. Tanzania is known for having predators especially at the Serengeti National park so here you can easily spot leopards, lions and, cheetahs. Water bodies that support wildlife survival because they are located within or close to the parks include; Lake Natron, Lake Manyara, Lake Magadi, Momella lakes, River Rufiji. 

Animals unique to Tanzania include; the Zanzibar Red Colobus, the Pemba Flying Fox, Bakari’s Free-tailed bat, The Tanzania Coast Dwarf Galago, the Kilimanjaro Mouse Shrew, Eastern Arc Wood-Mouse. Birds unique to Tanzania include; Yellow Collared Lovebird, The Pemba Scops owl, the Banded sunbird, the Kilombero Weaver, Usambara Thrush, Udzungwa Forest-Patridge, the Ashly Starling. Reptiles unique to Tanzania include the Pemba Day gecko, the Red-Snouted wolf snake, the Katavi Blind Dart Skink extra.

Unique attractions in Tanzania include the deepest caldera called Ngorongoro crater, pink flamingos on Lake Natron, Ol Doinyo Lengai which is an active volcano, Mt Kilimanjaro which is the highest mountain in Africa, Mt Meru, Seronera valley, Mafia island prominent among snorkelers and divers, Pemba island for scuba diving in the Indian Ocean, Zanzibar beaches, Olduvai Gorge, largest baboon concentration in Lake Manyara National Park, Great Wildebeest Migration annually.

In the Zanzibar city, most visitors engage in seeing the Stone Town or joining the historical walk, Aquana island tour, Multi Spice tour, Sultan’s Palace, Jambiani village tour, Old Fort of Zanzibar, Old Slave market, Prison island. 

Crystal clear tropical waters offer Exciting water activities in Zanzibar include parasailing, water skiing, scuba diving, snorkeling, dhow cruises, kiteboarding, swimming with dolphins, windsurfing. 

For wildlife lovers who want to enjoy in Zanzibar, you visit Cheetah’s rock, Mnarani marine Turtles Conservation pond, Nungwi Natural Aquarium, Jozani sea turtle sanctuary, Zanzibar Butterfly Centre.

Activities to get involved in while in Tanzania include; Bird watching especially around Lake Magadi, diving, deep-sea fishing, snorkeling, wildlife safaris, mountain climbing, volcano exploring, cultural visits especially the Iraqw village, nature walks,